HomeCricketAshwin Returns To India's Squad For Australia ODI Series; Sanju & Chahal...

Ashwin Returns To India’s Squad For Australia ODI Series; Sanju & Chahal Dropped

The Indian cricket squad for the upcoming ODI series against Australia has been announced. The announcement was made by the Indian cricket captain, Rohit Sharma, and the Chairman of Selectors, Ajit Agarkar. The Indian team management implemented a rotation policy to control player workloads and achieve peak performance. As a result, some key players, including captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, will be rested for the first two matches of the series. In the absence of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul will lead the Indian team.

One of the notable inclusions in the squad is the return of Ravichandran Ashwin. Ashwin replaces the injured Axar Patel and brings a wealth of experience and wicket-taking ability to the team’s spin department. Sanju Samson has recently performed well in ODIs even though he was dropped from the squad. One of the highlights of the squad announcement is the retention of young Thilak Varma.

The ODI series between India and Australia consists of three matches. The first match will be played on September 22 in Mohali, the second on September 24 in Indore and the final on September 27 in Rajkot.

Ashwin Returns To India's Squad For Australia ODI Series; Sanju & Chahal Dropped

India’s Squad For The First Two ODIs

KL Rahul (C), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

India’s Squad For The Third & Final ODI

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia Tour Of India 2023 Schedule

Date Match Details Venue Time (IST)
September 22, 2023 India vs Australia, 1st ODI Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 1:30 PM
September 24, 2023 India vs Australia, 2nd ODI Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore 1:30 PM
September 27, 2023 India vs Australia, 3rd ODI Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot 1:30 PM

Also Read, Team India’s Cricket World Cup 2023: Squad, Schedule, and Predicted Playing XI

- Advertisment -

Most Popular