HomeFootballAsian Games 2023: India's 22-Member Football Squad Announced, Sunil Chhetri To Lead...

Asian Games 2023: India’s 22-Member Football Squad Announced, Sunil Chhetri To Lead The Team

The Indian Senior Men’s Team Head Coach, Igor Stimach, has announced the 22-member squad for the upcoming Asian Games 2023. Leading the charge for the Indian men’s football team will be the veteran striker Sunil Chhetri. The People’s Republic of China’s Hangzhou will host the Asian Games 2023 from September 23 to October 8. India, two-time Asian Games champions, is returning to the football event after a hiatus of nine years.

 The Asian Games men’s football event has seen a remarkable change since 2002, transforming into an under-23 competition. This alteration allows each participating team to field a maximum of three players over 23.

Striker Sunil Chhetri, goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, and defender Sandesh Jhingan will be part of the young Indian football team.

Asian Games 2023 - India's 22-Member Football Squad Announced, Sunil Chhetri To Lead The Team

Meet the 22-Member Squad of the Indian Men’s Football Team for the Asian Games 2023

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Gurmeet Singh.

Defenders: Sandesh Jhingan, Narender Gahlot, Lalchungnunga, Akash Mishra, Anwar Ali, Ashish Rai, Roshan Singh.

Midfielders: Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Rahul KP, Naorem Mahesh Singh, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Apuia Ralte, Amarjit Singh Kiyam.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Rahim Ali, Aniket Jadhav, Siva Sakthi Narayanan, Vikram Partap Singh, Rohit Danu.

Head Coach: Igor Stimac.

Also Read, Durand Cup 2023: Teams, Groups, Venues, Schedule, Fixtures, Prize Money, Live Telecast And Streaming Details

Asian Games 2023 Men’s Draw

The draw for the group stage has placed the Indian men’s football team in Group A alongside challenging opponents such as hosts China, Bangladesh, and Myanmar. The Asian Games football tournament features 23 teams, divided into six groups, with Group A, B, C, E, and F having four teams each and Group D comprising three units.

Group Teams
Group A China, Bangladesh, Myanmar, India
Group B Vietnam, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Mongolia
Group C Uzbekistan, Syria, Hong Kong, Afghanistan
Group D Japan, Palestine, Qatar
Group E South Korea, Bahrain, Thailand, Kuwait
Group F North Korea, Indonesia, Kyrgyz Republic, Chinese Taipei
- Advertisment -

Most Popular